About Me

My name is Julia Wharton, I was born in Isleworth, Middlesex, the youngest daughter of John Arthur Martin Wharton and Christine Hayes and we lived in Sunbury-on-Thames. My father was a police officer and my mother was a housewife. We had an extremely happy childhood and my parents were planning to return to Norfolk, where my father had been raised after my father had retired in 1986. However, this was not to be and at the age of 16 my perfect world suddenly changed when my father was diagnosed with cancer and just two weeks later he passed away on 10th November 1985 aged 53. I moved to Dersingham, Norfolk a few months later with my mother (my elder siblings had already left home) and attended Norfolk College of Arts & Technology for the next two years before returning to London to start my own career. Shortly afterwards my mother was diagnosed with early onset vasuclar dementia, she was about fifty years old at the time. We watched her slowly deteriorate over the next few years and she passed away on 16th November 2002 aged 62.

Having lived my adult life without either of my parents, I developed a keen interest in genealogy from a very young age and have been researching my ancestry since the early 1990s. Back in those days it was a lot harder and I hit many a brick wall along the way. With thanks to an amazing fellow researcher called Beryl Chapman I have now traced my ancestors back to the early 1600s. With the dawn of the internet I have managed to break through many of the brick walls I found so hard to break through in the 1990s. My personal family tree research personal website can be found at http://whartonfamilyhistory.co.uk.

I have also uploaded my own gedcom to this one-name study site as well so you will be able to look it up here too. However, my own personal website has more indepth biography's of many of my ancestors. I have only just begun this one-name study so have a long way to go, if you would like to get in touch with me then please use the contact page and feel free to ask me any questions.